#BookReview – The Hunting Party – Lucy Foley (2019) @lucyfoleytweets

The Hunting Party: A Novel
By: Lucy Foley
Kindle edition, 336 pages
Format: ARC via Edelweiss+ in exchange for my honest review
Dates read: 27 Jan 2019 – 10 Feb 2019

From Goodreads:

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?


Favorite read of 2019 so far! This book is like an outdoorsy version of the game of Clue.

A group of childhood friends travels to a lodge in the middle of nowhere several days before New Year’s Eve and by New Year’s Day one of them is dead.

I loved the author’s style of alternating narrators between the friends as well as the caretakers of the lodge. They all have the commonality of not entirely being who they seem or of portraying the image of who they are expected to be which makes figuring out the whodunit part of this story even harder. Even though there are so many different narrators, each is so unique and has their own personality so as a reader there is no problem discerning whose story you are reading (there are also huge title headings with the narrators name).

Your attention is immediately grabbed with the discovery of the body and is essentially told through flashbacks beginning with the friends arrival at the lodge. I wasn’t able to figure out the ending of this book at all although I was able to figure out some of the side story parts. You also are left wondering who was murdered as this also is not revealed until near the end. Honestly, all of the characters are well off and kind of self-centered so I would have been okay with pretty much any of them being murdered lol. I believe this just added to the mystery of who the murderer could be because all of them seem like they could be capable of doing it.

There are so many sub-plots going on that you are getting a story within a story within a story. While trying to figure out who the murderer could be and who was murdered you slowly are revealed parts of all the characters backstories and begin trying to figure out what their secrets are as well. Each chapter and each change in narrator makes every single one of the friends look more and more guilty.

I can only recommend that you pay attention to every single detail while you read because facts and interactions that seem unimportant at the time are part of what Lucy Foley uses to wrap up the end of this book with one helluva bow.

After finishing this book my first thought is this would be a great movie. I did some research and it looks like it is going to be turned into a TV series by the company that produced The King’s Speech, Lion and Top of the Lake. Details can be found here. I’m so stoked and can’t wait to watch this!

LUCY FOLEY is a former editor at Hodder Fiction and has been both a literary agent and a bookseller. An avid painter, she now writes full time and lives in London, England.

Twitter: @lucyfoleytweets
Facebook: Lucy Foley

The Belgian Reviewer
Rather Too Fond of Books
Between the Lines
Art and Soul
Lynn’s Book Blog
Ludwig’s Thrillers
My Chestnut Reading Tree
For Winter Nights – a bookish blog
I Wuv Books
I Should Read That
Mrs Bloggs The Average Reader
Hooked From Page One
Books From Dusk Till Dawn
In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel
Beverly Has Read
Mani’s Book Corner
Grace J Reviewerlady
Books on the 7:47
The Last Word Book Review

Thank you to Edelweiss+ and William Morrow for the ARC to read in exchange for my fair and honest review.

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “#BookReview – The Hunting Party – Lucy Foley (2019) @lucyfoleytweets

  1. I’ve also read a review of The Silent Patient yesterday and it sounded good! This sounds like a pretty nice read too. I enjoy a little mystery read every now and then because they’re so thought-provoking. And you know you’re so absorbed in the story when you have your own suspects and taking notes for the clues, haha. Anyway, this is such an awesome review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s